In order to renew her real estate license last November, Nancy Brauer, a Colorado Realtor with 27 years' experience, had to pay $60 more than in past years and drive 45 minutes to be fingerprinted, thanks to a new state law. Compared to some folks, Brauer was lucky. Thousands of Colorado real estate brokers missed the Dec. 31 deadline to comply with the new law mandating that brokers submit fingerprints and fees for background checks to state and federal law enforcement officials. Technically, this means they can't do business at all – though an emergency measure enacted by the Colorado Real Estate Commission extended the processing deadline to Jan. 31, according to Commission Director Debbie Campagnola. Though one-third of the state's approximately 46,000 agents were noti...
Get Inman via Facebook Messenger
Our top headlines delivered once a day.