Fourteen Realtor associations, representing 10 regional multiple listing service providers and the bulk of residential for-sale listings in the state of Minnesota, have announced the creation of a data-sharing system.

The Data-Sharing MLS Co-op system is a Web-based property-search tool that allows members of the systems to find properties throughout most of the state without the need to join multiple MLSs and pay multiple membership fees, according to an announcement by the Minneapolis Area Association of Realtors.

The regions served by the co-op include areas surrounding Duluth, Grand Rapids, Brainerd, Willmar, St. Cloud, Faribault, Mankato, Fairmont, New Ulm, Windom, Albert Lea, Austin, Owatonna, Rochester, Winona, the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area, and Western Wisconsin. The Fergus Falls area will be added next month.

“The data-sharing co-op extends the reach of information about sellers’ properties to interested buyers across the state,” said Todd Shipman, 2006 president of the Minneapolis Area Association of Realtors, in a statement. “For buyers, they can work with a Realtor in their own area to get information on properties almost anywhere in the state.”

The co-op allows participating brokers to make offers of cooperation and compensation beyond the traditional boundaries of a single MLS, according to the announcement. Participating Realtors can send printed reports and e-mail messages to clients with details about properties listed for sale within the co-op system.

“This is truly a cooperative effort among several associations that cover an extensive geographic area and, in some ways, are in competition with each other,” Shipman stated. “We share a common goal of serving the best interests of our members and their clients, and that’s what drove the MLS co-op to reality.”

Show Comments Hide Comments


Sign up for Inman’s Morning Headlines
What you need to know to start your day with all the latest industry developments
By submitting your email address, you agree to receive marketing emails from Inman.
Thank you for subscribing to Morning Headlines.
Back to top
Only 3 days left to register for Inman Connect Las Vegas before prices go up! Don't miss the premier event for real estate pros.Register Now ×
Limited Time Offer: Get 1 year of Inman Select for $199SUBSCRIBE×
Log in
If you created your account with Google or Facebook
Don't have an account?
Forgot your password?
No Problem

Simply enter the email address you used to create your account and click "Reset Password". You will receive additional instructions via email.

Forgot your username? If so please contact customer support at (510) 658-9252

Password Reset Confirmation

Password Reset Instructions have been sent to

Subscribe to The Weekender
Get the week's leading headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Top headlines from around the real estate industry. Breaking news as it happens.
15 stories covering tech, special reports, video and opinion.
Unique features from hacker profiles to portal watch and video interviews.
Unique features from hacker profiles to portal watch and video interviews.
It looks like you’re already a Select Member!
To subscribe to exclusive newsletters, visit your email preferences in the account settings.
Up-to-the-minute news and interviews in your inbox, ticket discounts for Inman events and more
1-Step CheckoutPay with a credit card
By continuing, you agree to Inman’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

You will be charged . Your subscription will automatically renew for on . For more details on our payment terms and how to cancel, click here.

Interested in a group subscription?
Finish setting up your subscription