New Facebook features Breakdown

Subscribe Button

Overview:

Facebook’s new subscribe button allows users to subscribe to public posts from non-friends and business profiles.  Additionally users can control the amount of information they receive from their subscriptions.

Users can also subscribe to their friends updates.  They can also filter how much information they receive from their friends – All Updates, Most Updates, or Only Important Updates.

Highlights

  • You must enable this feature to activate it – here is the link 
  • This feature is only available for personal profiles and business profiles (not Facebook Pages).
  • Non-friends will only have visibility to your public posts
  • To manage your subscriptions, visit your personal profile and click on the “subscriptions” link below friends
  • You can control the types of updates you receive by simply hovering over the list

Here is a definition of the types of updates from Facebook’s blog.

  • All updates: Everything your friend posts
  • Most updates: The amount you’d normally see
  • Important updates only: Just highlights, like a new job or move

Important Note:  When you send a friend request to someone, you are automatically subscribing to their public post.  Users have the ability to control who they share their post with – public, friends, or custom. (Thanks Mari) .  To learn more about this feature – visit Facebook’s blog post.

Smart List

Overview:

Smart lists – You’ll see smart lists that create themselves and stay up-to-date based on profile info your friends have in common with you–like your work, school, family and city.

Facebook analyzes your work history, school, family and location to determine who will be added to your Smart List.

Highlights

  • List will be bookmarked on homepage
  • Smart List will begin rolling out this week
  • Will be available for mobile in a few weeks
  • You have the ability to add or remove people from this list.
  • Using this feature is optional.

Lists versus Groups

In groups, everyone can see everything. If John posts an update in a group, all group members have visibility to that post.

When you share a post to a list, that post is only visible to people on that list. If your friends are not on that list, they will not see that post.

 

Facebook Usernames Available to All Pages

In the past, only pages with 25 Likes could set up their custom username.

Facebook now allows every page (even those with less than 25 likes) to set up a username.

Say goodbye to post like these!

If you have create a page and do not have your username set up – visit the username page.

Important Note: Once you select your username, you cannot change it. Try to keep it short and simple.

 

Fewer Emails from Facebook

To avoid overloading users with email notifications anytime something happens, Facebook will begin to email you a daily summary of the “less important” things.

To activate the email frequency feature, visit the notifications page  and select the check box (see image below)

If you’d like to customize your notification settings, you will have to disable this feature.

 

Additional Updates

Translate Button


View Shares

When you share a link, post a video, or upload a photo – you can now view who else has shared it.

Link Preview

 

If you’re interested in learning more about recent Facebook changes, I recommend that you read Katie Lance’s 4 Important Facebook Changes You Need to Know.