Industry News

Realtors honor Congressional leaders

Learn the New Luxury Playbook at Luxury Connect | October 18-19 at the Beverly Hills Hotel

The National Association of Realtors is honoring 16 members of Congress with the organization's Legislative Leadership Award for the 108th Congress. Awarded every two years, the tribute recognizes leadership in supporting legislation to help more families achieve the American dream of home ownership. The award also acknowledges exceptional efforts to advance NAR's top public policy objectives, which include barring banking conglomerates from entering real estate, promoting favorable real estate tax initiatives, increasing the transparency of the real estate transaction and expanding housing opportunities for all Americans, especially veterans. This year's honorees include U.S. Sens. Wayne Allard (R-Colo.), Jon Corzine (D-N.J.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) and Reps. Judy Biggert (R-Ill.), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), Barney Frank (D-Mass.), Katherine Harris (R-Fla.), Ruben Hinojosa (D-Texas), Darlene Hooley (D-Ore.), Ernest Istook (R-Okla.), Paul Kanjorski (D-Pa.), Bob Ney (R-Ohio), Anne No...